spotpopla.blogg.se

Japanese candy
Japanese candy













The site has paid my living expenses in Japan for 7 years now, and over that time I’ve shipped over $1M worth of candy in total. One time I tried to offer a daredevil subscription that would only send the most shocking things to the most daring customers, but that one didn’t have many takers, so now I limit what I send to those I would be personally willing to eat :-) I’ve seen beer caramels, octopus jelly, potato caramels, seaweed candy, chinese soup drops… the list is endless. Same goes for every other area with their own regional specialties. For instance near us there is a place famous for their onions, so of course they also make onion candy drops for all those onion-loving tourists that flock to that area. Part of the reason for this variety is the large size of the Japanese candy market, coming up with new concepts for Japanese consumers to try.Īnother reason is that every area in Japan has their own regional specialty, and the local ingredient will eventually find its way into candy as well. Some candies even have their flavor change when you mix them together, or have mystery tastes where you don’t know whether something will be sweet or sour before you try it. There are many flavors that you might not see outside Japan, such as rose, wasabi, green tea and Japanese plum (umeboshi).

japanese candy

Another fun one has you dig through chocolate to find hidden gummies inside.

japanese candy

For example we have candy that makes a sound as you blow air through it, ones that start to foam when eaten and a large variety of DIY kits where you mix parts together to create your own candy. My name is Bemmu Sepponen ( and I run a service called Candy Japan that sends surprise boxes of Japanese candy to people all around the world, on a twice-monthly basis.Īfter moving to Japan I found the candies here fun to try, so I decided to start a service that would send them to people abroad to try as well.

japanese candy

Hello! Who are you and what business did you start?















Japanese candy